Fort Worth Criminal Defense Law Firm

(817) 810-9395

111 N. Houston Street, Suite 205
Fort Worth, Texas 76102

DWI

Tarrant County DWI Attorney


Texas DWI Defense in Downtown Fort Worth

Cody has experience and training to fight any DWI charge.  He is committed to staying on the cutting edge of DWI defense.  Not only has Cody defended DWI cases, but he has also prosecuted DWI cases.Call Texas DWI attorney Cody L. Cofer if you are arrested for DWI He knows how the government will try to present the DWI case against you, and he is ready to battle them every step of the way.  Cody is well versed in the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFST).  He has undergone hours of training in the classroom, in the courtroom, and in the field.  Whether the evidence against you is field sobriety test, breath specimen, or a blood specimen, Cody is ready to fight to win your case.  He will attack the government’s case starting with the first time the cops laid eyes on your car until they had you booked into jail. 

DWI can have a huge impact on your life.

Cody will fight to keep your driver’s license while the case is pending and after resolution.  He will help you get an occupational driver’s license if your license has already been suspended.  He will be there to protect your rights every step of the way. Cody L. Cofer is a criminal defense lawyer that will fight to protect your rights and reputation.  When you’re facing driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges in Fort Worth, Texas call the Tarrant County criminal defense attorney who will work from day one to have your case dismissed or have a jury find you “not guilty.”

Do you need a DWI criminal defense attorney?

Deciding to just “take your lumps” can lead to a great deal of trouble later in life.  Many counties, including Tarrant County, will use prior DWI convictions that are more than 25 years old to enhance the punishment and grade of offense for people newly accused of DWI. DWI cases require a skilled and experienced Criminal Defense Attorney.
In many ways DWI is treated like a felony despite the fact the first two convictions are only misdemeanors.  Cops are trained to start building a case against you the second they see your car.  Everything you say and do is likely being recorded.  So, the police use what are called “Field Sobriety Tests” to create evidence on the recording.  These tests require you to do a variety of tasks that people do not do in their normal daily lives, but later prosecutors will argue that your performance on these tests indicate a loss of normal mental or physical faculties.  After making you do these tests on the roadside you will be asked to provide a breath or blood specimen.  Generally, the best thing to do is be very polite and decline any tests (roadside or jailhouse).  Do not let them manipulate you into providing them with evidence that can be twisted around to convince a jury that you were DWI.

To fight your DWI call Texas DWI Attorney Cody L. Cofer or visit his Downtown Fort Worth Office.

READ ABOUT THESE DWI TOPICS:

Second or Third DWI
DWI Field Sobriety Tests
DWI Breath Tests
DWI Blood Tests
DWI with Child Passenger
Intoxication Manslaughter
DWI Driver’s License Suspension
DWI Frequently Asked Questions

You can’t get a second if you never get a first, but if you have a prior DWI see “Second or Third DWI

Texas DWI Laws and Penalties

First Offense DWI (Class B Misdemeanor):

  • Up to $2000 fine
  • Minimum 72 hours in jail (MANDATORY)
  • Maximum 180 days in jail
  • Up to 2 years Probation if eligible

First Offense DWI with 0.15 or higher BAC (Class A Misdemeanor)

  • Up to $4000 fine
  • Minimum 30 days in jail (MANDATORY)
  • Maximum 1 year in jail
  • Up to 2 years Probation if eligible

Read about this 2011 Texas DWI Law that went into effect September 1, 2011.
Second Offense DWI (Class A Misdemeanor):

  • Up to $4000 fine
  • Minimum 30 days in jail (MANDATORY)
  • Maximum 1 year in jail
  • Up to 2 years Probation if eligible

Texas Felony DWI Punishment
Third DWI Offense (3rd Degree Felony):

  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Minimum 2 years in jail (MANDATORY)
  • Maximum 10 years in jail
  • Up to 10 years Probation if eligible

There are circumstances that could result in an ENHANCED FELONY DWI charge and subsequent enhanced penalties if you are convicted:

DWI With Child Passenger (State Jail Felony):

  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Minimum 6 months in State Jail Facility (MANDATORY)
  • Maximum 2 years in State Jail Facility
  • Up to 5 years probation if eligible

DWI Assault (3rd Degree Felony):

  • Cause serious bodily injury to another person as a result of operating a motor vehicle or watercraft while intoxicated
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Minimum 2 years in prison (MANDATORY)
  • Maximum 10 years in prison
  • Up to 10 years probation if eligible

Intoxicated Manslaughter (2nd Degree Felony):

  • Cause the death of a person as a result of operating a motor vehicle or watercraft while intoxicated
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Minimum 2 years in prison (Mandatory)
  • Maximum 20 years in prison
  • Up to 10 years probation if eligible

Texas DUI (Driving Under the Influence) Punishment
For minors convicted of operating a motor vehicle with any detectable amount of alcohol:
First and Subsequent DUI Convictions: A first time DUI conviction is a Class C Misdemeanor. It carries with it a fine that is not to exceed $500.00. It is important to note that if an individual charged with a DUI has 2 prior convictions for DUI, the punishment goes up dramatically. The fine for an individual with 2 previous convictions is not less than $500.00 and not more than $2,000.00. In addition, a judge may give that individual a jail sentence of up to 6 months.

DWI Driver’s License Suspension
In addition to fines and possible jail time, the Department of Public Safety will suspend an individual’s license. [Read More...]